Obsessions and routines

My son has an obsession with Toy Story. And by obsession I mean he owns everything Toy Story and if you try to get him to do anything while the movie is playing, or try to get him to watch anything else, he will go ape shit crazy.

One day Toy Story ended and instead of restarting it I put in Alvin and the Chipmunks. That was a huge mistake on my part. He didn’t even give the movie a chance. He repeatedly screamed no, smacked me, threw himself on the floor, and then repeatedly turned the tv on and off. (I’m assuming he thought this would bring Toy Story back?)

Now it’s not that I wanted to see him act like this. It took me by surprise and took me a minute to get Toy Story back on.

Do your kids have an obsession?

Now on to routines. The first thing my son does when he gets up every morning is get a bowl so that he can eat Cheerios and watch Mickey Mouse Clubhouse. On the mornings he doesn’t go to daycare, he then has eggs and toast while he watches Jake and the Neverland Pirates.

He refuses to have a routine for the rest of the day, but his mornings have to go like that or else it’s chaos.

Do your kids have any specific routines?

20120424-093556.jpg
This is my little one. He makes a face like this in EVERY picture. Seriously. Besides baby pictures of him, I think I only have 2-3 “normal” pictures of him.

20120424-093715.jpg
See what I mean?

Leave a Reply

