Hello world!

This blog will be an overview of my everyday life and my comments on certain news articles/opinions on autism. I have Asperger’s Syndrome and my 2 year old son has been diagnosed with severe ASD. I am a law major in college as well as a “stay at home” mom.

My son goes to therapy 4 days a  week. He is currently in occupational, speech, and ABA therapy. We were very lucky to find therapists who we really click with. My son loves them and I couldn’t have asked for a better support team.

My son is currently non verbal. He could say a few words when he was between 12 and 15 months old and then one day it all stopped.  He had a horrible pediatrician who wouldn’t listen to my concerns and told me I had no idea what I was talking about. (Right, the woman with Asperger’s has no idea what she’s talking about when it comes to autism.)

I know I was looked down upon and ignored because of my age, and that’s something I still deal with everyday. We finally found a pediatrician who listened to me and he referred us to a developmental pediatrician. After being in the developmental pediatrician’s office for over 2 hours, we left with a diagnosis of PDD-NOS. Finally I had  the confirmation that I needed to know that in fact I was not crazy, there was something wrong with my son, and now we could start to process to helping him.

My son was diagnosed 6 months ago at the age of 18 months. Once he was diagnosed he was put into  therapy immediately. I can already see lots of improvements. Instead of completely not talking he can now imitate, and uses about 3 words in his everyday speech.

3 months ago we went back to the developmental pediatrician to do more testing and the diagnosis went from PDD-NOS to severe ASD. The change in diagnosis was hard for everyone to take in. Was he really severe? Does this change what people had hoped to be his outcome? Was he ever going to be able to talk?

Stay tuned to find out the answers to those questions.

Leave a Reply

